Moderator: Community Manager
[Post Reply] [*]  Page 1 of 2  [ 14 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 »
SrGopher
Post subject: Belt fed 20/40mm AA gun FeasibilityPosted: December 27th, 2011, 3:23 am
Can someone tell me the feasibility of having a 20mm or maybe even 40mm belt-fed AA gun? Fire rate doesn't have to be as high as a machine gun, but rather more as an improvement over the standard clip fed guns of WWII. I was thinking that the fire rate for the 20mm mount would be 600-750 rpm and the 40mm mount would be 300-450 rpm. Of course both mounts would be on power turrets to control the heavy recoil and maintain accuracy. The 40mm version would probably even need to occupy the same amount of space as a twin Bofors gun.

Also, I have very little knowledge about the basic function of either the clip fed or belt fed guns, which is why I am asking.

[Profile] [Quote]
Zephyr
Post subject: Re: Belt fed 20/40mm AA gun FeasibilityPosted: December 27th, 2011, 3:41 am
About the only difference between magazine feed and belt feed is the method of getting the rounds into the chamber. A belt fed weapon doesn't necessarily have to be larger, just a different feed mechanism.

[Profile] [Quote]
klagldsf
Post subject: Re: Belt fed 20/40mm AA gun FeasibilityPosted: December 27th, 2011, 3:43 am
Belt-fed intermediate autocannon rounds are now common, as witnessed by these 30mm Bushmaster training rounds:

[ img ]

[Profile] [Quote]
Carthaginian
Post subject: Re: Belt fed 20/40mm AA gun FeasibilityPosted: December 27th, 2011, 3:45 am
There are already several linked belt weapons of greater than 20mm.
The primary gun armament on all US aircraft are 20mm and the gun on the A-10 'Warthog' is 30mm. Rates of fire are significantly higher than you suggest, though they are artificially limited by ammo supply.

[Profile] [Quote]
WhyMe
Post subject: Re: Belt fed 20/40mm AA gun FeasibilityPosted: December 27th, 2011, 3:52 am
How about Vickers 2-pdr? It's a real belt-fed 40mm gun.